AFCON Memories: The Green Eagles of 1980….


The 1980 African Cup of Nations was hosted and won by Nigeria. That was the Green Eagles (as the Super Eagles were then known) first continental triumph in soccer. The then Green Eagles played their first group game against Tanzania and defeated them 3-1. Their second game was against Ivory Coast and ended 0-0. The final group game saw the Green Eagles facing beating Egypt 1-0 to top Group A with 5 points. Eagles would go on to defeat Morocco 1-0 in the semi final and ultimately won the cup by defeating Algeria 3-0 in the final game. The Green Eagles were rewarded with a house each at FESTAC town in Lagos and also given a national award each; Member of the Order of the Niger (MON). As we celebrate our recent victory in AFCON 2013 in South Africa, let us remember these heroes (some of whom are dead). They are:

Best Ogedegbe
David Adiele
Okey Isima
Muda Lawal
Christian Chukwu (Captain)
Tunde Bamidele
Segun Odegbami
Alloysius Atuegbu
Felix Owolabi
Godwin Odiye
Adokiye Amiesimaka
Moses Effiong
Emmanuel Okala
Sylvanus Okpala
Ifeanyi Onyedika
Martin Eyo
John Orlando
Shefiu Mohammed
Charles Bassey
Henry Nwosu
Frank Onwuachi
Kadiri Ikhana

Leave a Reply