AFCON Memories: The Super Eagles of 2013….

Before a new African champion is crowned this weekend in Equatorial Guinea, let’s take some time and remember the Super Eagles team that made us proud by winning the 2013 AFCON hosted by South Africa. This would be Nigeria’s third continental title. Drawn in Group C, Nigeria drew 1 – 1 with Burkina Faso and Zambia in their first two group games before defeating Ethiopia 2-0 in their final group game. The Super Eagles defeated a star studded Ivory Coast team 2-1 in the quarterfinal and went on to beat Mali 4-1 in the semifinal. The final match saw the Super Eagles square up again with group rivals Burkina Faso with the Nigerians running away with a lone goal victory courtesy of Sunday Mba to lift the trophy. The heroes are:

Vincent Enyeama
Joseph Yobo (Captain)
Elderson Echiejile
Nwankwo Obiora
Efe Ambrose
Azubuike Egwuekwe
Ahmed Musa
Brown Ideye
Emmanuel Emenike
Mikel Obi
Victor Moses
Reuben Gabriel
Fegor Ogude
Godfrey Oboabana
Ikechukwu Uche
Austin Ejide
Ogenyi Onazi
Ejike Uzoenyi
Sunday Mba
Nosa Igiebor
Juwon Oshaniwa
Kenneth Omeruo
Chigozie Agbim


Leave a Reply