Archive | November 15, 2015

2015 BBC African Footballer of the Year candidates revealed….

Yaya Touré, André Ayew, Yacine Brahimi, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang and Sadio Mané.

The five candidates for the 2015 BBC African Footballer of the Year have been revealed during a special live launch broadcast in Johannesburg, South Africa. Algeria’s Yacine Brahimi, the 2014 winner, is on the shortlist along with Gabon’s Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, Ghanaian Andre Ayew, Senegal’s Sadio Mane and Yaya Toure of Ivory Coast. The winner will be decided by African football fans, who have until 7pm Nigerian time on 30 November to vote for their choice. The winner will be announced on Friday, 11 December between 4:30 pm and 5pm during a special live broadcast on both BBC World News and BBC World Service, with the BBC Sport and BBC Africa websites also carrying the announcement.