Lewandowski is the first winner of the AS / WFS Player of the Year….

Lewandowski: “It’s an honour to be the first winner of the AS / WFS Player of the Year”

Robert Lewandowski was full of appreciation for AS and the World Football Summit (WFS) having received his award for Player of the Year 2020.

The Polish striker, who was unable to attend the virtual WFS summit to receive his trophy, sent a message to all his fans: “It’s a huge honour to be the first winner of the AS / WFS award.” “Hello Spain! Thank you so much for the AS / WFS Player of the Year Award,” said the Bayern Munich striker in an emotional message in which he focused on the situation in football caused by the covid-19 pandemic. “I hope everyone in Spain is doing ok. Please, look after yourselves and your loved ones. I hope to see all of you soon in stadiums full of fans.” Lewandowski underlined the importance of football in life: “Football is our passion, our life, our love! Many thanks once again! Look after yourselves!” The striker shared the podium at these awards with fellow Player of the Year Pernille Harder (Ikast, Denmark, 1992). The awards were announced on 16 November in AS and recognise the outstanding performances of the two players, who shone throughout last season thanks to their goals for Bayern and Wolfsburg. It’s worth highlighting that the pair were top scorers respectively in men’s and women’s football. Lewandowski was top scorer in the Bundesliga (34 goals in 30 games) and the Champions League (15 in 10), winning both with Bayern, along with the Pokal, the German Super Cup and the European Super Cup. Without doubt the Polish striker was the most lethal man in European football last season – a season so badly affected by covid-19. But despite the pandemic, footballers such as Lewandowski were able to ignite the spark of excitement for the game we love. The Bayern forward was first in the voting, head of his teammate Kimmich, who was second, and Barcelona and Argentina star Messi, in third. From Lewandowski to Harder, another striker who’s deadly in front of goal. The Danish forward, who signed for Chelsea in the summer for the biggest ever transfer fee in Women’s football, scored 38 last season with Wolfsburg. With the German side she won the German League and Cup double and reached the final of the Champions League, where they lost to Lyon (1-3) at Anoeta. In the voting for the Player of Year Award, Chelsea’s new addition finished first, ahead of French forward Wendie Renard (Olympique Lyon) and Spanish star Jenni Hermoso (Barcelona). To decide the winners of the respective awards, The votes of AS.com readers counted for 25% of the overall ballot, while the WFS/AS jury’s choices counted for 75%. The jury was made up of: AS editor-in-chief Vicente Jiménez; AS honorary president Alfredo Relaño; AS columnist Santiago Segurola; AS senior editor María Jesús Luengo; El País sports editor José Sámano; AS journalist Aritz Gabilondo; AS México editor Alejandro Gómez; AS columnist Axel Torres; AS microsites editor Carmen Colino; Dani Garrido, the presenter of Cadena SER radio programme Carrusel Deportivo; AS journalist Mayca Jiménez; Manu Carreño, the presenter of Cadena SER radio programme El Larguero; AS Colombia editor Sarah Castro; AS journalist Aimara Garteizgoxeascoa Gil; and AS Chile editor Mario Brisso.

Leave a Reply