Chelsea celebrate awards double….

Chelsea manager Jose Mourinho celebrates winning the Barclays Manager of the Season Award with his back room team from Stamford Bridge

Chelsea are celebrating an awards double with Jose Mourinho and Eden Hazard being voted the Premier League’s manager and player of the year respectively. Mourinho led Chelsea to their first League title in five years, while forward Hazard led the way on the pitch with 14 goals and eight assists. The duo were selected from the Barclays Panel that included a group of former players, journalists and football stakeholders. Mourinho was chosen from a five-strong list of candidates drawn up by the Premier League, the others being Ronald Koeman, Garry Monk, Nigel Pearson and Arsene Wenger. Koeman, of Southampton, has guided Saints into Europa League contention despite losing a number of key players last summer. However, the Dutchman recruited well and – with one match remaining this season – the south coast club have the joint-meanest defence in the Premier League. Swansea’s Monk is nominated after leading his team to their highest ever points total in England’s top flight. An excellent end to the season for Leicester City earned Pearson a nominee, as the Foxes collected 19 points out of 24 to reach Premier League safety having, at one stage, being seemingly cut adrift at the base of the table. And Wenger maintained his record of securing Champions League football for the Gunners for an 18th consecutive season. Meanwhile, four Chelsea players were among the list of eight from which Hazard was chosen. The others were John Terry, Cesc Fabregas and Nemanja Matic but the Belgian international made it a personal treble having already claimed the PFA and Writers awards. The other four in contention were Manchester City striker Sergio Aguero, goalkeeper David de Gea of Manchester United, Tottenham’s PFA Young Player of the Year Harry Kane and Alexis Sanchez of Arsenal.

Jose Mourinho and Eden Hazard

Leave a Reply