Super Falcons squad for Canada Women’s World Cup named….

Asisat Oshoala (2R) of Nigeria celebrates her team's second goal.

Super Falcons coach, Edwin Okon has released a list of the final 23 players that would represent Nigeria at the FIFA Women’s World Cup starting in Canada next month. The tournament will run from 6th June to 5th July 2015. Of course, the BBC Woman Footballer of the Year, Asisat Oshoala made the list that also includes veteran Perpetua Nkwocha and senior debutant Courtney Dike.

The full list:

Goalkeepers: Precious Dede (Ibom Queens); Christy Ohiaeriaku (Rivers Angels); Ibubeleye Whyte (Rivers Angels)

Defenders: Blessing Edoho (Pelican Stars); Osinachi Ohale (Rivers Angels); Onome Ebi (FC Minsk, Belarus); Josephine Chukwunonye (Rivers Angels); Ugo Njoku (Rivers Angels); Ngozi Ebere (Rivers Angels); Sarah Nnodim (Nasarawa Amazons)

Midfielders: Evelyn Nwabuoku (BIIK Kazygurt, Kazakhstan); Halimatu Ayinde (Delta Queens); Martina Ohadugha (Rivers Angels); Cecilia Nku (Rivers Angels)

Forwards: Perpetua Nkwocha (Clemensnas IF, Sweden); Esther Sunday (FC Minsk, Belarus); Asisat Oshoala (Liverpool Ladies, England); Desire Oparanozie (En Avant Guingamp, France); Ngozi Okobi (Delta Queens); Francisca Ordega (Washington Spirit, USA); Loveth Ayila (Rivers Angels); Courtney Dike (Oklahoma State University, USA); Ini-Abasi Umotong (Portsmouth Ladies, England)


The Super Falcons pictured during their training in Canada. Yours truly will be bringing updates when the tournament starts.


Leave a Reply