Voting now closed for BBC African Footballer of the Year….

Yaya Touré, André Ayew, Yacine Brahimi, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang and Sadio Mané.

Voting has closed for the 2015 BBC African Footballer of the Year award. The five-man shortlist was announced on Saturday 14 December during a special live launch broadcast in Johannesburg, South Africa, with voting ending at 7pm Nigerian time on Monday 30 November. Algeria’s Yacine Brahimi, the 2014 winner, is on the shortlist along with Gabon’s Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, Ghanaian Andre Ayew, Senegal’s Sadio Mane and Yaya Toure of Ivory Coast. The winner, who is voted for by African football fans, will be announced on Friday, 11 December between 4:30pm and 5pm during a special live broadcast on both BBC World News and BBC World Service, with the BBC Sport and BBC Africa websites also carrying the announcement. Three of this year’s shortlist, which was voted for by journalists from 46 African countries, have previously won the BBC award – Ayew in 2011, Toure in 2013 and Brahimi.

Leave a Reply