Yaya Toure is the 2015 BBC African Footballer of the Year….


Cote d’Ivoire captain Yaya Toure has been voted the BBC African Footballer of the Year 2015. Football fans voted for Manchester City’s Toure, who first won in 2013, ahead of Yacine Brahimi, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, Andre Ayew and Sadio Mane. “I am very proud. To receive this dedication from the fans is unbelievable,” Toure told BBC Sport. “Also I want to pay tribute to the other nominees. African football is growing up, becoming much better and we have fantastic young players coming through now.” Toure described all five nominees as “champions”. He added: “I am delighted and very happy. And as an African player, I want to lead all my younger brothers to be successful in the future. “When I was a kid I was always dreaming of being an important player. I have sacrificed a lot. “I will continue to try to win a trophy every year, I will fight to win a personal trophy.”

Previous winners

2014: Yacine Brahimi (Algeria) 2009: Didier Drogba (Ivory Coast) 2004: Jay-Jay Okocha (Nigeria)
2013: Yaya Toure (Ivory Coast) 2008: Mohamed Aboutrika (Egypt) 2003: Jay-Jay Okocha (Nigeria)
2012: Chris Katongo (Zambia) 2007: Emmanuel Adebayor (Togo) 2002: El Hadji Diouf (Senegal)
2011: Andre Ayew (Ghana) 2006: Michael Essien (Ghana) 2001: Sammy Kuffour (Ghana)
2010: Asamoah Gyan (Ghana) 2005: Mohamed Barakat (Egypt) 2000: Patrick Mboma (Cameroon)

Leave a Reply