Champions League Semifinalists….

Here are the semifinalists for this this season’s Champions League:

  • Barcelona (2006, 2009 and 2011 champions)
  • Bayern Munich (1974, 1975, 1976, 2001 and 2013 champions)
  • Juventus (1985 and 1996 champions)
  • Real Madrid (1956, 1957, 1958, 1959, 1960, 1966, 1998, 2000, 2002 and 2014 champions)

A total of 22 clubs have won the Champions League/European Cup. Real Madrid hold the record for the most victories, having won the competition ten times, including the inaugural competition. They have also won the competition the most times in a row, winning it five times from 1956 to 1960. Prior to 2009, if a team won the UEFA Champions League three times in a row, or five times overall, they were allowed to keep the European Champion Clubs’ Cup and a new one was commissioned. Five teams earned this privilege; Real Madrid, Ajax, Bayern Munich, Milan and Liverpool.

It doesn’t get any better. Stay tuned for the semifinal draw tomorrow.

Leave a Reply