Asisat Oshoala up for BBC Women’s player award….

Award nominees Veronica Boquete, Nadine Kessler, Kim Little, Marta and Asisat Oshoala

BBC World Service has revealed the five names in contention for its inaugural Women’s Footballer of the Year award. Spain’s Veronica Boquete, Germany’s Nadine Kessler and Scotland’s Kim Little are joined by Brazilian forward Marta and Liverpool and Nigerian youngster Asisat Oshoala. The winner will be revealed on BBC World Service on 26 May after being decided by a public vote. Voting is open now and closes on 11 May at 10:00 BST. A panel of experts – including administrators, journalists, coaches and former players – decided the shortlist. Fans can vote online through the BBC website or by SMS. To vote for BBC Women’s Footballer of the Year 2015 by SMS, text the number of the player you wish to vote for to +44 7786 20 20 04 . Text 1 for Veronica Boquete, 2 for Nadine Kessler, 3 for Kim Little, 4 for Marta and 5 for Asisat Oshoala. Oshoala said: “I worked hard last year but I am surprised to be nominated and I feel very appreciated. This award is a very good thing for women’s football. It can really help us by encouraging other countries to support their ladies more and treat them the same way they treat the men.”¬†Asisat!! Go girl!!!

Leave a Reply