New Nigeria’s coach calls up 23 players for Tanzania game….

Gernot Rohr

Newly appointed Nigeria manager Gernot Rohr has named youngster Victor Osimhen in his first squad. The German has named 23 players for the game against Tanzania in Uyo on 3 September in a 2017 African Cup of Nations qualifier. Nigeria cannot qualify for the finals in Gabon, with Egypt claiming the qualifying place from Group G. Arsenal’s Alex Iwobi has not been included due to a thigh injury that has ruled him out for four weeks. Also missing is Oghenekaro Etebo, who is at the Olympics with Nigeria and scored four goals in a 5-4 win over Japan in their first match in Brazil. One member of the Olympic team on Rohr’s list is John Mikel Obi and he is joined by Chelsea team-mate Victor Moses. It will be Rohr’s first match as Nigeria boss and will give the German an opportunity to meet the players and discuss his future plans. Rio 2016 Olympic football goalkeeper Emmanuel Daniel, FC Porto’s Chidozie Awaziem and Osimhen, top scorer at the 2015 Under-17 World Cup, have been handed maiden call-ups. Israel-based midfielder Nosa Igiebor, overlooked since June 2014 gets a recall. The three-time African Champions are using the game to prepare for their opening 2018 World Cup qualifying match with Zambia in Ndola in October.

The squad:

Goalkeepers: Carl Ikeme (Wolverhampton Wanderers, England); Emmanuel Daniel (Enugu Rangers); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (FC IfeanyiUbah)

Defenders: Leon Balogun (FSV Mainz 05, Germany); William Troost-Ekong (Haugesund FC, Norway); Chidozie Awaziem (FC Porto, Portugal); Jamiu Alimi (Kano Pillars); Abdullahi Shehu (Uniao da Madeira, Portugal); Musa Muhammed (Istanbul Basaksehir, Turkey); Elderson Echiejile (AS Monaco, France), Kingsley Madu (AS Trencin, Slovakia)

Midfielders: Mikel John Obi (Chelsea, England); Ogenyi Onazi (Trabzonspor, Turkey); Wilfred Ndidi (KRC Genk, Belgium); Nosa Igiebor (Maccabi Tel Aviv, Israel)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Leicester City, England); Kelechi Iheanacho (Manchester City, England); Moses Simon (KAA Gent, Belgium); Victor Moses (Chelsea FC, England); Imoh Ezekiel (Al-Arabi Sporting Club, Qatar), Odion Ighalo (Watford FC, England); Brown Ideye (Olympiacos FC, Greece); Victor Osimhen (Wolfsburg FC, Germany)

Leave a Reply